Global Mayors COVID-19 Recovery Task Force: Statement of Principles

Publicado el 07 Mayo 2020

C40 mayors have united to launch the Global Mayors COVID-19 Recovery Task Force to rebuild our cities & economies in a way that improves public health, reduces inequality and addresses the climate crisis. The COVID-19 pandemic has profoundly impacted the world’s cities. It is not just a global health crisis, but a social and economic crisis, the effects of which will be felt for years to come.

It is clear that the harm caused by COVID-19 has not been equitable. We, as leaders of major cities across the globe, are clear that our ambition should not be a return to ‘normal’ – our goal is to build a better, more sustainable, more resilient and fairer society out of the recovery from the COVID-19 crisis.

The Task Force's joint strategy to support the recovery of our cities and their residents from COVID-19 will be governed by these principles:

  1. The recovery should not be a return to ‘business as usual’ - because that is a world on track for 3°C or more of over-heating;

  2. The recovery, above all, must be guided by an adherence to public health and scientific expertise, in order to assure the safety of those who live in our cities;

  3. Excellent public services, public investment and increased community resilience will form the most effective basis for the recovery;

  4. The recovery must address issues of equity that have been laid bare by the impact of the crisis – for example, workers who are now recognised as essential should be celebrated and compensated accordingly and policies must support people living in informal settlements;

  5. The recovery must improve the resilience of our cities and communities. Therefore, investments should be made to protect against future threats – including the climate crisis – and to support those people impacted by climate and health risks;

  6. Climate action can help accelerate economic recovery and enhance social equity, through the use of new technologies and the creation of new industries and new jobs. These will drive wider benefits for our residents, workers, students, businesses and visitors;

  7. We commit to doing everything in our power and the power of our city governments to ensure that the recovery from COVID-19 is healthy, equitable and sustainable;

  8. We commit to using our collective voices and individual actions to ensure that national governments support both cities and the investments needed in cities, to deliver an economic recovery that is healthy, equitable and sustainable;

  9. We commit to using our collective voices and individual actions to ensure that international and regional institutions invest directly in cities to support a healthy, equitable and sustainable recovery.

The mayors to have formally endorsed the Statement of Principles are:

  • Mayor of Los Angeles, Eric Garcetti
  • Mayor of Athens, Kostas Bakoyannis
  • Mayor of Austin, Stephen Adler
  • Mayor of Barcelona, Ada Colau
  • Mayor of Bogotá, Claudia López
  • Mayor of Boston, Martin J. Walsh
  • Chief of Government of Buenos Aires, Horacio Rodríguez-Larreta
  • Mayor of Chicago, Lori Lightfoot
  • Lord Mayor of Copenhagen, Frank Jensen
  • Mayor of Curitiba, Rafael Greca
  • Chief Minister of Delhi, Arvind Kejriwal
  • Secretary General of the Executive Council of Dubai, H.E. Abdulla Mohammed Al Basti
  • Mayor of Durban, Mxolisi Kaunda
  • Mayor of Dalian, Shaowang Chen
  • Mayor of Freetown, Yvonne Aki-Sawyerr
  • Secretary for the Environment, Hong Kong, China, KS Wong
  • Mayor of Houston, Sylvester Turner
  • Mayor of Lima, Jorge Muñoz
  • Mayor of Lisbon, Fernando Medina
  • Mayor of London, Sadiq Khan
  • Mayor of Medellín, Daniel Quintero Calle
  • Lord Mayor of Melbourne, Sally Capp
  • Mayor of Mexico City, Claudia Sheinbaum
  • Mayor of Miami, Francis Suarez
  • Mayor of Milan, Giuseppe Sala
  • Mayor of Montréal, Valérie Plante
  • Mayor of New Orleans, LaToya Cantrell
  • Mayor of New York City, Bill de Blasio
  • Governing Mayor of Oslo, Raymond Johansen
  • Oxford City Council Leader, Councillor Susan Brown
  • Mayor of Paris, Anne Hidalgo
  • Mayor of Portland, Ted Wheeler
  • Mayor of Quezon City, Josephina Belmonte
  • Mayor of Rotterdam, Ahmed Aboutaleb
  • Mayor of Salvador, Antonio Carlos Magalhães Neto
  • Mayor of São Paulo, Bruno Covas
  • Mayor of San Francisco, London Breed
  • Governor of Santiago, Felipe Guevara
  • Mayor of Seattle, Jenny Durkan
  • Mayor of the Metropolitan Government of Seoul, Park Won-soon
  • Lord Mayor of Sydney, Clover Moore
  • Mayor of Tel Aviv - Yafo, Ron Huldai
  • Mayor of Toronto, John Tory
  • Mayor of Vancouver, Kennedy Stewart